psa facebook  psa twitter  psa rss
Membership Logon |  Contact Us |  Follow us 

  Forgot your details?


Leadership team

The PSA is a democratic union with members involved in policy decisions at every level.

The Executive Board

The Executive Board is a policy-making body accountable to Congress. It is responsible for overseeing PSA policy and making sure we spend our money wisely. It meets at least five times a year, and is chaired by the PSA President.


Executive Board members may hold office for two years and can be re-elected for a further two consecutive years.


The board consists of:
        *  The President, who is elected by Congress
        *  The Secretariat
        *  The elected convenor of each sector committee
        *  The convenor of Te Runanga o nga Toa Awhina
        *  A representative of the staff group

For a list of Executive Board members click here

PSA president

Mike Tana is the current PSA President. The President is elected by Congress for a two-year term and can serve for a maximum of two consecutive terms.



PSA secretariat

The Secretariat is responsible for the management and day-to-day leadership of the union.
The Secretariat currently consists of two national secretaries: Brenda Pilott and Richard Wagstaff.



Sector Committees

PSA members are grouped into five sectors: community public services; district health boards; local government; state sector; and public service. Delegates in each sector elect a sector committee, and the convenor of that committee sits on the Executive Board. For more details of the five sectors, click here.



Te Rūnanga o Ngā Toa Āwhina

Te Rūnanga o Ngā Toa Āwhina is the national committee that represents the interests of the PSA's Maori members. It has two representatives on each of the sector committees, and the convenor of the Rūnanga committee is a member of the Executive Board. The current convenor is Alby Marsh.

For more information about Te Rūnanga o Ngā Toa Āwhina click here. 



Staff representative

PSA staff members have an elected representative on the executive board.